Chicago – Original Soundtrack – 2002


Chicago – Original Soundtrack



Maurine Watkins’ satirical play Chicago has gone through several permutations since it opened at the Music Box Theatre on Broadway on December 30, 1926.

There was a silent movie version in 1927, followed by a sound film called Roxie Hart starring Ginger Rogers in 1942.

In 1975, director/choreographer Bob Fosse and the songwriting team of John Kander and Fred Ebb brought a darker vision to the story of a murderess who achieves acquittal due to publicity and slick lawyering, and their musical ran 898 performances back on Broadway.

But the show really came into its own in 1996 when, in the wake of the O.J. Simpson trial, a revival was mounted that was still running on Broadway six years later when this movie version of the musical was released.

The story and setting are perfect for Kander & Ebb, who delight in using musical pastiches of the interwar era to underlie a deeply pessimistic world view in such works as Cabaret.

Indeed, listeners will be much reminded of that earlier score by this one, in which each character gets one or more hot jazz-style numbers to illuminate his or her villainy.

What may surprise listeners is how effective the principals — Renée Zellweger, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Richard Gere, and John C. Reilly — are, given that none of them are known for their singing abilities.

Modern studio techniques can do wonders, of course, making actual dubbing virtually unnecessary, but the actors really throw themselves into these performances.

Less impressive are the extraneous songs (not actually featured in the film) tacked on at the end, presumably to expand the album’s commercial appeal, including a rap by Queen Latifah (who co-stars in the film) and Lil’ Kim, and a musically irrelevant dance tune by Anastacia that wasn’t even written by Kander & Ebb.
~ William Ruhlmann ~ William Ruhlmann, All Music Guide


01 – Overture – nd all that .mp3

02 – Funny honey.mp3

03 – When you’re good to mama.mp3

04 – Cell block tango.mp3

05 – All i care about.mp3

06 – We both reached for the gun.mp3

07 – Roxie.mp3

08 – I can’t do it alone.mp3

09 – Mister cellophane.mp3

10 – Razzle dazzle.mp3

11 – Class.mp3

12 – Nowadays (Roxie).mp3

13 – Nowadays.mp3

14 – I move on.mp3

15 – After midnight.mp3

17 – Cell block tango.mp3

18 – Love is a crime.mp3





1 Response to “Chicago – Original Soundtrack – 2002”

  1. abril 28, 2009 en 1:43 pm

    Acabo de descargarme esta estupenda banda sonora. Un millón de gracias. Su blog es culto y, sobretodo, muy generoso. Bien, el generoso es Usted.
    Reciban un afectuoso y agradecido saludo.


Introduce tus datos o haz clic en un icono para iniciar sesión:

Logo de WordPress.com

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de WordPress.com. Cerrar sesión /  Cambiar )

Google+ photo

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Google+. Cerrar sesión /  Cambiar )

Imagen de Twitter

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Twitter. Cerrar sesión /  Cambiar )

Foto de Facebook

Estás comentando usando tu cuenta de Facebook. Cerrar sesión /  Cambiar )


Conectando a %s


octubre 2008
« Sep   Nov »

Archivo Blog

Blog Stats-desde 10-08-2008

  • 848,739 hits

Desde 20-08-2008



A %d blogueros les gusta esto: